YAF Triangle
Emerging Professionals



get you info straight from NCARB. Click Here

ARE 5.0: The Basics
The main things that architects and interns need to know are:

  • ARE 5.0 will launch in late 2016.
  • It will include six standalone divisions, compared to the seven in ARE 4.0, that align to commonly defined professional architect activities of practice management, project management, and project design.
    The ARE 4.0 Test Specification is also available to reference.
  • The current “graphic vignette” software, which has been in use since the exam was computerized in 1997, will be replaced with new question types.

ARE 5.0 Transition Plan

  • Interns who began testing in the current version of the exam have the ability to earn credits for passed divisions that can be applied to divisions in ARE 5.0.
  • ARE 4.0 will continue to be delivered at least 18 months following the launch of ARE 5.0 to give candidates who have partially completed ARE 4.0 a chance to finish.
    • ARE 4.0 will be retired on 30 June 2018.
  • Interns who began testing in ARE 4.0 will have the opportunity to transition to ARE 5.0 at any time after it launches. 
    • This will be a one-way transition—once candidate transition to ARE 5.0, they must complete the examination in ARE 5.0.

Key Takeaways

  • Keep testing! The last day of ARE 4.0 will not be until 30 June 2018. The average ARE candidate finishes all divisions in about two (2) years—we are over two years away from the launch of ARE 5.0.
  • Test strategically. NCARB will be recommending testing strategies to help candidates prepare for the transition.
    • Important Divisions to Pass in ARE 4.0 in order of priority:
      • Construction Documents & Service
      • Programing, Planning, & Practice
      • Site Planning & Design
  • Understand your Rolling Clock.
    • Candidates will not have to transition to ARE 5.0 until June 2018
      —but they may have divisions that expire before then, which could impact how they transition.
    • Exam expiration date(s) of ARE 4.0 divisions will be applied to ARE 5.0 credits earned.